H Tusker Photos
Who needs what to win the circuit?
By Eric Njiru | Tue 11 Sep, 2018 13:45

The 2018 Kenya national sevens circuit will be decided on Saturday September 15 at Christie 7s - sixth and last leg, with Homeboyz and Mwamba being two front-runners to take over from champions Kabras Sugar. 

KCB, 2013 and 2014 champions, are also in contention but can only win the title if both Homeboyz, 2016 champions, and Mwamba, 2011 champions, drop to Shield semis or fail to show up. 

Also read Kabras are the National 7s Circuit champions

Homeboyz have 100 points requiring only 15 points - equivalent of reaching main cup semis and forgetting Mwamba's results - to take home the national title..

Mwamba, at 92 points, need the maximum 22 points and hope Homeboyz does not go past cup quarterfinals at RFUEA Grounds. 

May Mwamba fail to reach semis, Homeboyz will need only six points - equivalent to losing challenge trophy final. A situation where Mwamba fails to reach cup quarters will see Homeboyz crowned national champions at the close of day one. 

Also read  Mwamba win Dala 7s

May Homeboyz fail to reach quarters and win challenge trophy, Mwamba will need to finish at least third to be at 109 points compared to Homeboyz's 108 points.

Homeboyz were in a similar situation in 2016 when Impala and Quins were in contention for the title but the Deejayz made it to the final, higher than the two Ngong road sides.

Leading up to the season finale, Homeboyz won Prinsloo 7s, Sepetuka 7s and Kabeberi 7s as well as lose Dala 7s final. Mwamba won Dala 7s and lost three finals -two to Homeboyz and won to Top Fry Nakuru. 

At Christie 7s, Mwamba are seeded top to play Kabras Sugar, Mean Machine and Uganda champions Pirates while Homeboyz are in pool B with Top Fry Nakuru, Menengai Oilers and South Africa select featuring Blue Bulls and TUK.

Standings going to Christie 7s

1 .Homeboyz 100 
2. Mwamba 92 
3. KCB 81 
4. Nakuru 73 

Christie 7s

Pool A: Mwamba, Kabras Sugar, Mean Machine, Pirates
Pool B: Homeboyz, Top Fry Nakuru, Menegai Oilers, South Africa Select
Pool C: Impala Saracens, Kenya Harlequins, Northern Suburbs, Emerging Uganda
Pool D: KCB, Nondies, Kisii, Strathmore Leos.

National sevens circuit roll of honor

1999: Impala
2000: Impala
2001: Impala
2002: Ulinzi
2003: Ulinzi
2004: Impala
2005: Quins
2006: Quins
2007: Mwamba
2008: Mwamba
2009: Strathmore
2010: Mwamba
2011: Mwamba
2012: Quins
2013: KCB
2015: Nakuru
2016: Homeboyz
2017: Kabras Sugar

Eric Njiru
ericnjiru41@gmail.com +254726205521
Related Articles
Leave a comment