A Amonde -Getty Images
What you need to know about World 10s
By Raga House | Thu 15 Oct, 2020 14:17

The World Tens Series is an International, Professional Rugby Tens Tournament. Privately owned teams tour the globe competing in pools and knockouts.

It boasts some of the most exciting stars and up and coming athletic talent in Rugby. Think older, experienced juggernauts of the game, bordering on retirement, mixing it up with young, hungry go-getters. 

Kenyan internationals Andrew Amonde, Willy Ambaka, Oscar Dennis and Collins Injera will feature for SX10 at World 10s with former 7s star Frankie Horne as the Head Coach. SX10 is a new franchise comprising of members of the South African and Kenya 7s. Cecil Afrika and JP Du Plessis will feature too.

The first-ever World Tens Series tournament gets underway in Bermuda on 24 October 2020 until 07 November 2020 and from 2021 the tournament will be expanded to include 16 teams competing in tournaments in 12 locations throughout the world.

Eight teams have been drawn into two groups of four with a quarterfinal, semi-final and the final taking place on 07 November at the Bermuda National Stadium for the first tournament which is set for plenty of running rugby and a party atmosphere. 

Rugby Tens consists of ten players per team competing against each other in two ten-minute halves with a two-minute halftime break. Expect plenty of offloads, sidesteps and tries with each game consisting of two ten-minute halves with a two-minute halftime break.

16 players are selected from a 20-man squad throughout each match with unlimited rolling substitutions allowed throughout each match.

Conversion jeopardy with the conversion after the try ensures that the conversion is now worth between 1 and 5 points depending on where the kicker selects which zone to kick from.No match will be a draw with the excitement of a match play shoot-out if the game is all tied up after 20 minutes.

Samurai will provide the players and coaching staff of the five franchises with playing and training kit designed exclusively for the World Tens Series. 

Sky Sports has signed a deal to cover the World Tens Series with further announcements in other territories to follow according to the organizers.

SX10 squad

Forwards: Frikkie De Beer, Jacques Du Toit, Thinus Van Zyl, Cory Daniel, Andrew Amonde, Tienie Burger, Gary Porter, Harry McNulty.

Backs: Luke Treharne, Craig Hunt, Cecil Afrika, Joe Pietersen, Oscar Dennis, JT Jackson, JP Du Plessis, Willy Ambaka, Collins Injera, Christian Ambadiang, Dewald Naude.

-Material derived from Worldtens.com

Raga House
Leave a comment