W Webuye RFC
Webuye Div 2 top seeds at Sepetuka 7s
By Patrick Korir | Wed 25 Jul, 2018 11:44

Webuye RFC will headline a 24-team division two as the six-part National Sevens circuit enters round two with Sepetuka Sevens on 28-29 July at Eldoret Sports Club, Eldoret.

This is as confirmed by Kenya Rugby Union upon the release of the fixtures for Sepetuka's division two.

Also read Prinsloo Div 2: Kisii are the Champions!

As top seeds they go straight to pool A that has CITAM Kisumu and Nakuru KITI - teams that contested the 13th place Div 2 final at Prinsloo, the former winning it 21-5, as well as the B team of hosts Homeboyz.

Webuye contested the top division during the first leg of the series at Prinsloo 7s in Nakuru in the ended weekend.

They were banded with pool D with KCB, Nondies and Nakuru. Save for the first game against KCB where they lost 36-0, they scored a try in the following games in going down 19-5 and 24-5 to Nakuru and Nondies respectively.

Webuye was one of four sides relegated at Prinsloo besides Blak Blad, Mombasa and Kisumu after going down 31-0 to Catholic Monks, 12-0 to Mean Machine, 19-14 to Nondies and 38-0 to Strathmore Leos, in that order.

Blak Blad and Kisumu however got a reprieve as they were invited to feature in the top division at Sepetuka - as well as Prinsloo Div 2 Bronze winners MMUST - by host team Homeboyz RFC. Kisii RFC earned their place in top division of the same event by virtue of winning Prinsloo's div II title.  

Egerton Wasps who lost 5-0 to Kisii in the final of Prinsloo Div 2 after extra time are in pool B that also houses Stingers, TUK and a new entrant Sigalala.

COMRAS, Northern Surburbs, Makueni and Kiambu RFC are all separated as they are in pools C to F, in that manner.

Pool C will activate Sepetuka div 2 games as MKU THika face Molo and as COMRAS takes on KPA Eldoret in concurrent games from 8am.

At the close of 32 games on day one, knockout pairing for day two will be known with the best eight contesting the quarters of the main cup, the next eight the Challenge Trophy and the final eight the Spears trophy.

Sepetuka Div 2 pools

Pool A: Nzoia Sugar Webuye, CITAM Kisumu, Nakuru KITI, Homeboyz II

Pool B: Egerton Wasps, Stingers, TUK, Sigalagala

Pool C: COMRAS, MKU Thika, Molo, KPA Eldoret

Pool D: Northern Suburbs,Daystar Falcons, KCAA Stormers, University of Eldoret

Pool E: Makueni, Eldoret, Mbale, Moi University

Pool F: Kiambu, Embu, Administration Police, Bungoma

Patrick Korir
Related Articles
Leave a comment