P Photo credit - RVA
Unbeaten Upper Hill retains Prescott Cup
By Patrick Korir | Sat 24 Jun, 2017 12:25

Upper Hill beat RVA 17-0 at St. Mary's on Saturday 24 June to retain the Prescott Cup they won for the first time in 2016.

Upper Hill, unbeaten all season, ended the dreams of RVA who were out to reclaim the title for the first time since 1994.

Rolf Smith

Though beaten, the spirited RVA provided the most valuable player - open side flanker Jonnah Volstenk.

Upper Hill led 5-0 at half time then went on to add 12 unanswered points in the next half to claim a back-to-back title. They won the title the year before at the same venue by taking down Lenana School 36-3. 

Inside centre Rolf Smith scored the lone try in the first half and the boys from the Metropol Hill stayed put despite a yellow to lock Emmanuel Mnyake to lead 5-0 at the break.

Speed gun Jonathan Madruga went over in the second half to double the scores leaving RVA to chase a 10-0 deficit. 

But as they searched for points they were cornered when replacement Newton Mose escaped a clutch of hands from centre pitch to barge over under the posts. The boot of fly half Abdultwalib Wesonga made it 17-0.

Feel good

The latest title left Upper Hill coach Victor Walgwe in cloud nine. He said;

"Hard work and the willingness of the players to succeed won the day. When you play the game from the back then it becomes easier to win a game and that was our secret to winning."

Upper Hill captain Harrison Ojwang was equally a happy man, and he said the latest triumph will set them up for upcoming assignments.

"It obviously feels good to win the Prescott Cup for a second straight year. We worked hard for it. Communication within the team and support among the players was key to success. Now that the title is in the bag we can now focus on the East African games in August." Said the flanker

For a place in the final, RVA had beaten Alliance 27-19 in the last four as Upper Hill dismissed Nairobi School 31-3.


Upper Hill

1. Collins Odhiambo, 2. Jason Adongo, 3. Steven Ma hoka, 4. Maurice Otieno, 5. Emmanuel Mnyake, 6. Harrison Ojwang (Captain), 7. John Otieno, 8. Winston Kombo, 9. Samuel Otieno, 10. Abdultwalib Wesonga, 11. Sullivan Otieno, 12. Rolf Smith, 13. Brian Kimani, 14. Jonathan Madruga, 15. Saidi Abdalla

Subs: Salah Adan, 17. George Abayo, 18. Newton Mose, 19. John Junior, 20. Pius Odera, 21. Clement Ashila, 22. Brian Oloo


1. Ben Anderson, 2. Andre Spronkk, 3. James White, 4. Zack Broaden, 5. Jonathan Reber, 6. Benjamin Wagner, 7. Jonnah Volstenk, 8. Logan Overt, 9.  Evans Taylor, 10. Micah Smith, 11. Eugene Omalla, 12. Andrew, 13. Joseph Bardy, 14. Henry Kingangi, 15. Caleb Nelson

Subs: 16. Ben Stocksdale, 17. Micah Entristle, 18.  Taner, 19.  Lee, 21. Jared Jackson

Referee: Andrew Karani

Patrick Korir
Related Articles
Leave a comment