K KRU Photos
Uganda beats Kenya for the first time in six years
By Raga House | Sat 22 Jun, 2019 17:43

Uganda Cranes beat Kenya Simbas for the first time in six years as they secured a 13-16 win in the first leg of the 2019 Elgon Cup on Saturday June 22 in Kisumu.

The last time Uganda beat Kenya before Saturday's match was June 15, 2013 when they won 16-17 in Nairobi. Last year's meeting between these two sides ended 38-22 in Nairobi. However, of the 23 who played in 2019, only seven made the matchday squad(average 22 years) in Kisumu.

Adrian Kasito put Uganda 5-0 up before Kenya Harlequin half-back Aaron Ofoywroth extended the lead to 8-0 via a penalty goal. He would cut between the sticks again to take Uganda 0-11 up Dominic Culson reduced the deficit to eight with a three-pointer going to the interval.

Pius Ogena landed a try for the visitors after the break but Ofoywroth sent his conversion attempt wide. 

Substitute Griffin Musila went over for Kenya's first try with his KCB mate Jeff Okwach also landing a try to make it 13-16 as the extras were not converted. Uganda would however hold on to the three-point lead until the last play.

The Elgon Cup return leg is set for Saturday July 13 in Kampala which will double up as Victoria Cup -subject to Kenya Rugby Union confirmation. 

Kenya Simbas
15.Isaac Njoroge 14.Jeff Okwach 13.Peter Kilonzo(C) 12.John Okoth 11.Billy Odhiambo 10.Coulson Dominic 9. Samson Onsomu 1.Oscar Sorano 2.Toby Francombe 3.Joseph Odero 4.Simon Muniafu 5.Emmanuel Silungi 6.Monate AKuei 7.Coulson Cameron 8.Elkeans Musonye

16.Griffin Musila 17.Patrick Ouko 18.Ephraim Oduor 19.Malcolm Onsando 20.George Nyambua 21.Michael Wanjala 22.Charles Kuka 23.Jeff Mutuku

Uganda Cranes
1.Santos Senteza 2. Kanyanya Ronald 3. Asuman Mugerwa(C) 4. Charles Uhuru 5. Aziku Robert 6. Oketayot Byron 7. Asaba Brian 8. Emong Eliphaz 9. Epillo Paul 10. Ofoyrwoth Aaron 11. Masendi Paul 12. Ogena Pius 13. Munyani Ian 14. Semwami Daudi 15. Kasito Adrian

16. Kagimu Joseph 17. Kimbowa Collin 18. Kivumbi Saul 19. Diego Olet Simon 20. Ayera Desire 21. Masendi Robert 22. Bongomin Jordan 23. Maxwell Ebonga

Raga House
Leave a comment