A Lens Eye
Team News: Kenya vs Uganda
By Eric Njiru | Sat 02 Jul, 2022 08:58

Both Kenya Simbas and Uganda Cranes have named the squads to face each other on Saturday in the Rugby Africa Cup 2022 quarterfinals in Marseille, France. 

Kenya's backline will see Sevens great Collins Injera on the blind wing, Jacob Ojee on the open wing, Darwin Mukidza at fullback and a midfield pairing of John Okoth and Vincent Onyala. 

Skipper Daniel Sikuta, George Nyambua and Strathmore's Bethwel Anami form the back-row as Jone Kubu returns on the bench after missing the final two Currie Cup games.

Read Also: Namibia, Zimbabwe advance to Rugby Africa Cup semis

Former Kabras Sugar star Philip Wokorach will look to destroy Kenya yet again as he starts at fullback with fly-half Ivan Magomu captaining Uganda. Lawrence Ssebuliba, Pius Ogena, Innocent Gwokto and Solomon Okia complete the backline. Kabras star Asuman Mugerwa is among the forwards with Scott Olouch, Mark Omoding and Joaquim Chisano at backrow. 

The 2022 Rugby Africa Cup doubles up as 2023 Rugby World Cup qualifier tournament and will be played in a knock-out format. The winner between Kenya and Uganda will meet either Senegal or Algeria in the semis on Wednesday.

Namibia and Zimbabwe booked their place in semis on Friday evening courtesy of 71-5 and 38-11 wins over Burkina Faso and Ivory Coast respectively. 

With one automatic qualification spot at RWC 2023 up for grabs in France, it means that the victorious team must win three matches in less than 10 days to take their place in Pool A as Africa 1 next year.

The losing finalist will still have a chance to secure their ticket to RWC 2023 through the Final Qualification Tournament.

Matchday 23:
Kenya 1. Patrick Ouko, 2. Eugene Sifuna, 3. Ephraim Oduor, 4. Malcolm Onsando, 5. Thomas Okeyo, 6. George Nyambua, 7. Daniel Sikuta – Captain, 8. Bethwel Anami, 9. Samuel Asati, 10. Dominic Coulson, 11. Collins Injera, 12. John Okoth, 13. Vincent Onyala, 14. Jacob Ojee, 15. Darwin Mukidza. 

Finishers: 16. Teddy Akala, 17. Edward Mwaura, 18. Joseph Odero, 19. Brian Juma, 20. Davis Chenge, 21. Brian Tanga, 22. Jone Kubu, 23. Andrew Matoka

Uganda: 1 Santos Ssenteza, 2 Faragi Odugo, 3 Asuman Mugerwa, 4 Charles Uhuru, 5 Eliphaz Emong, 6 Mark Omoding, 7 Joaquim Chisano, 8 Scott Oluoch, 9 Paul Epillo, 10 Ivan Magomu (captain), 11 Lawrence Ssebuliba, 12 Pius Ogena, 13 Innocent Gwokto, 14 Solomon Okia, 15 Philip Wokorach.

Finishers: 16 Ronald Kanyanya, 17 Collin Kimbowa, 18 Michael Otto, 19 Emmanuel Ecodu, 20 Akera Komakech, 21 Jacob Ochen, 22 Conrad Wanyama, 23 Joseph Aredo.

Eric Njiru
Email: ericnjiru41@gmail.com +254726205521
Leave a comment