. Kabeberi 7s, the second leg of 2019 Stanbic 7s National Circuit, will be held at Kinoru stadium, Meru fron 27-28 July
Stanbic 7s jets to Meru for Kabeberi, draw released
By Patrick Korir | Mon 22 Jul, 2019 19:12

The draw for George Mwangi Kabeberi 7s, the second leg of Stanbic 7s National Circuit set to be held from 27-28 July 2019 at Kinoru stadium in Meru, is out and defending champions Homeboyz has been banded in pool B alongside Masinde Muliro University (MMUST), Mean Machine and Stanbic Pirates from Uganda.

Homeboyz rested the crown last year by taking out Nakuru RFC 19-7 at the Kenyatta Stadium in Machakos in mid-August last year.

Also read Homeboyz win (2018) Kabeberi 7s

The Deejays start their title defense with a clash against reigning Uganda 7s champions Stanbic Pirates starting 9.40 am next Saturday in the third game of the day.

2018 Kabeberi runners up Nakuru headline Pool D that has an unpredictable Strathmore Leos, co-host of the just ended Kakamega 7s Kabras Sugar and Northern Suburbs who were up scaled following their Div II triumph during Stanbic 7s first leg.

KCB, winners of Stanbic 7s first leg, spearhead Pool A that has Impala Saracens, Menengai Oilers and home team Meru RFC. 

Ngong road boys Nondies and Kenya Harlequins fall in pool C and will contest for top honors with tournament host Mwamba, and Njoro's Egerton Wasps.

KCB took home bronze in last year's event after knocking out Kenya Harlequin 22-5 in the losers final. Hosts Kulabu, as the hosts Mwamba are fondly known, settled for fifth last year after seeing off Kabras Sugar 26-19 in the Plate final.  Menengai Oilers hit Kisii RFC - who will be missing this years Div 1 contest - 15-0 to win the Challenge Trophy. 


Pool A: KCB, Impala Saracens, Menengai Oilers, Meru RFC

Pool B: Homeboyz, Masinde Muliro Uni, Mean Machine, Pirates (UG)

Pool C: Mwamba, Nondies, Egerton Wasps, Kenya Harlequins

Pool D: Nakuru RFC, Strathmore Leos, Kabras Sugar, Northern Suburbs

Patrick Korir
Related Articles
Leave a comment