L Capital Sport
Soya Awards: Ambaka third, Laiser Hill wins
By Eric Njiru | Sat 12 Jan, 2019 11:58

Safaricom Sports Personality of the Year awards (Soya) awards went down at Fort Jesus in Mombasa with couple of rugby entities winning awards. 

Laiser Hill Rugby was named the school team of the year after a year that saw them beat Chavakali High 6-5 to the national sevens title in Eldoret. They beat competition from Upper Hill 15s rugby team and St.Antony Hockey team. Their coach Kevin Wambua, who doubles up as Kenya 7s assistant coach, came second in the coach of the year category that was scooped by Tennis coach Rosemary Owino.

Kenya Lionesses came second in the Ladies team of the year losing to Telkom Kenya Hockey team. In 2018, Kenya Lionesses won Africa 7s and competed at the Commonwealth games as well as Dubai 7s. 

Lionesses' winger Janet 'Shebesh' Okello came third in the Sports Woman of the year category that was won by 3000m steeplechaser champion Beatrice Chepkoech. Hellen Obiri was second.

Kenya 7s and Simbas international Willy Ambaka was third in the Sportsman of the year award. This was won by athlete Eliud Kipchoge with Elijah Manangoi Coming second.

How Rugby Performed at Soya Awards 2018:

1.Sportsman of the year- Willy Ambaka- Third

2.Sportswoman of the year- Janet 'Shebesh' Okello- Third

3.Coach of the year- Kevin Wambua- Second

4.School Team of the year- Laiser Hill- Winners

5.Women team of the year- Kenya Lionesses -Second


Eric Njiru
Email: ericnjiru41@gmail.com +254726205521
Leave a comment