S South Africa and Australia
South Africa win Dubai 7s, Kenya finish 8th
By Raga House | Sat 27 Nov, 2021 17:50

South Africa laid down a daunting marker to their HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series rivals as they stormed to an eighth Emirates Dubai 7s title in the opening event of the season.

Kenya Sevens finished eighth after losing 29-7 to Ireland in the seventh place playoff. 

The Blitzboks defeated 2018 Dubai runners-up USA in Saturday’s final with a crushing 42-7 victory to clinch a third consecutive Series gold medal, after taking down Australia and Argentina in the knockout stages and winning all their Pool matches.  

Neil Powell’s side, crowned 2021 Series champions in September after winning in Vancouver and Edmonton, broke their record 16-match Series winning streak from 2008/09 by ending the tournament with an 18th consecutive victory.

They also racked up their biggest points haul in a Cup final, beating their previous best of 40 points against New Zealand in Las Vegas in 2013.

Australia were equally dominant in the women’s Sevens Series, winning every match to be crowned champions and win their first Series gold medal since 2018, after a 22-7 final win over Fiji.

Argentina pipped Olympic champions Fiji’s new-look squad 19-12 to clinch bronze in the men’s event, while Olympic silver medallists France claimed the women’s bronze in style with a resounding 40-0 victory over Russia.  

The HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series returns next weekend, again at The Sevens in Dubai, for the second event of the season.

-World Rugby 

Saturday, November 27, 2021 Cup knockouts:

Cup quarterfinals:
Argentina v Ireland 17-12
South Africa vs Australia 29-5
USA vs Great Britain 35-17
Fiji vs Kenya 19-5

9th place semifinals:
Spain vs Canada 45-14
France vs Japan 35-0

5th Place Semifinals
Ireland vs Australia 14-35
Great Britain vs Kenya 33-5

Cup semi-finals
Argentina vs South Africa 7-17
USA vs Fiji 21-19

11th place playoff

Canada vs Japan 22-14

9th Place playoff
Spain vs France 26-28

7th Place playoff
Ireland vs Kenya 29-7

5th Place play off
Australia 35 Great Britain 21

Bronze Final:
Argentina vs Fiji 19-12

Gold Final:
South Africa vs USA 42-7

Friday, November 26, 2021

Pool A: Fiji, Australia, Canada, France
Pool B: Argentina, USA, Kenya, Spain
Pool C: Great Britain, South Africa, Ireland, Japan

South Africa vs Ireland 28-7
Great Britain vs Japan 17-12
USA vs Kenya 14-7
 Argentina vs Spain 28-7
Australia vs Canada 35-19
Fiji vs France 24-17

South Africa vs Japan 52-12
Great Britain vs Ireland 26-19
USA vs Spain 7-12
Argentina vs Kenya 22-17
Australia vs France 17-10
Fiji vs Canada 29-14

Ireland vs Japan 33-0
Great Britain vs South Africa 12-31
Kenya vs Spain 26-12
Argentina vs USA 21-21
Canada vs France 14-24
Fiji vs Australia 17-12

Kenya Cup   Dubai 7s   Kenya 7s  
Raga House
Leave a comment