B Getty Images
Sevens Series 2018: Paris, London legs switch
By Eric Njiru | Mon 02 Oct, 2017 11:53

Next season's HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series for both men and women will reach a thrilling crescendo in Paris. 

The French capital will host the final round of the men’s and women’s series on 8-10 June 2018, as the final men’s tournament switches with the London tournament (2-3 June).

World Rugby Chairman Bill Beaumont said: “With the Commonwealth Games in April and Rugby World Cup Sevens in San Francisco in July, 2018 will be quite a year for the men’s and women’s teams. “The HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series is growing considerably each year and I predict this one will be no different, with the action coming to a thrilling climax for the 28 teams in Paris in June."

The schedule sees one change from last season as Hamilton takes over from Wellington as the destination of the New Zealand Sevens, the third round of the series, in February. Next season will also see room in the schedule to accommodate the Commonwealth Games on Australia’s Gold Coast, which takes place between the Hong Kong and Singapore rounds.

Teams participating in the Commonwealth Games on the Gold Coast in Australia in mid-April will travel via the Hong Kong tournament, which takes place on 6-8 April. The series resumes in Singapore on 28-29 April. With player welfare considerations at the forefront of schedule planning, rest weeks mean the HSBC London Sevens takes place later than usual on 26-27 May, before teams travel to Paris where the season will come to a crescendo on 2-3 June.

After the end of series, the focus will turn to the west coast of the USA on 20-22 July for Rugby World Cup Sevens at the iconic AT&T Park, home of the San Francisco Giants baseball team. 

Kenya Cup   Paris 7s  
Eric Njiru
Email: ericnjiru41@gmail.com +254726205521
Related Articles
Leave a comment