K Shujaa Pride Photos
Prinsloo 7s pool D: KCB, Nakuru, Nondies team news
By Eric Njiru | Fri 20 Jul, 2018 14:54

Prinsloo Sevens champions KCB have named a much changed squad as they head out to Nakuru to defend the title they won last year by seeing off hosts Nakuru RFC 29-5 at the Nakuru Athletics Club (NAC). 

From the squad last year just five players will be making a return; Samuel Asati, Ahmed Shaban, , Michael Kimwele, Isaac Njoroge and Elphas Otieno. With Amonde Andrew out for the Sevens World Cup and Owilah Martin, Chenge Davis Mukidza Darwin and Ojee Jacob with the Kenya Simbas, new firepower has had to be called in. 

Those in the national teams played a key part in winning it last year alongside Ojema Benjamin Abeka Stafford Nato Collins, Owira Arthur and  Wanjala Michael. In their absence comes in Peter Waitere as captain, Brian Omondi, Collins Wanjala, Edwin Otieno, Vincent Onyala, Jeff Okwach and Francis Muita. 


Squad: 1.Peter waitere (captain) 2.Brian Omondi 3.Collins Wanjala 4.Edwin Otieno 5.Vincent Onyala 6.Mike Kimwele 7.Samuel Asati 8.Ahmed Shaban 9.Elphas Otieno 10.Esau Otieno 11.Jeff Okwach 12.Isaac Njoroge 13.Francis Muita


Marvin Sumba who was part of the Prinsloo squad for Nondies last season is back and will lead the side as captain. Also back are Peter Lugano, Benjamin Marshall

Former Kenyatta University stalwarts Mark Oganyo and Moses Begi are part of the travelling party as well as Maurice Otieno, Brian Sinei, Jeremy Matata, Sumba Saidi, Eric Okoma, Eric Gitau and Conrad Ouko.  

They all come on for Enock Makinga, Simon Ngugi, Eric Ombachi, Joseph Akiruga, Charles Kanyi, Brian Amaitsa, Allen Katoni, John Juma and Henry Fullbright who featured at Prinsloo last year. 

Squad: 1. Marvin Sumba (c) 2. Okoma Eric 3. Benjamin Marshall 4. Amaitsa Brian 5. Sinei Brian 6. Maurice Otieno 7. Matata Jeremy 8. Lugano Peter 9. Sumba Saidi 10. Ongayo Mark 11. Gitau Eric 12. Begi Moses 13. Conrad Ouko

Top Fry Nakuru

Last years finalists Nakuru RFC has named a changed lineup for their home event. Absent from last years set up is big hitting Oscar Ouma, Kenya 7s star Nelson Oyoo who is out in San Francisco for the Rugby Sevens World Cup, Leslie Ochieng, Brian Maina, Kelvin Kioko, Martin Muita, Cassuius Omolo and Edwins Makori. 

Wanyore however have the right firepower in Geoffrey Ominde as captain, Gramwel Bunyasi, Monate Akuei, Chrispin Onyango and Phillip Owuor who are in for a successive tournament. 

Hannington Wabwire, Steve Wamai, Henry Ayaa, Billy Kipchirchir, Charles Odongo and former Kenya 7s player Donald Aluoch have been roped in for duty.  

Squad: 1. Phillip Owuor, 2. Monate Akuei, 3. Henry Ayaa, 4. Crispin Onyango, 5. Geoffrey Ominde (Captain), 6. Gramwel Bunyasi, 7. Hannington Wabwire, 8. Steve Wamai, 9. Billy Kipchirchir, 10. Donald Aluoch, 11. Anthony Oyugi, 12. Chrissant Ojwang, 13. Charles Odongo

Webuye RFC to follow

Eric Njiru
ericnjiru41@gmail.com +254726205521
Related Articles
Leave a comment