H Homeboyz
Pool A declare squads for Stanbic 7s opener
By Eric Njiru | Fri 19 Jul, 2019 10:16

Squads have been declared for what will be one of the toughest pools in the opening leg of the 2019 Stanbic 7s.

Pool A has defending champions Homeboyz, Impala Saracens, Embu 7s champions Menengai Oilers and returning Kenya Cup side as well as Kakamega 7s hosts Western Bulls.

Any day of the year Homeboyz will have several Kenya 7s internationals in their team and on this trip to Kakamega they have named Leonard Muagisi, Augustine Lugonzo and Mark Wandeto.

They however lost Kenya 7s head coach Paul Murunga to Mean Machine meaning South African Jason Hector will make his Stanbic 7s debut on Saturday.

Read Also: Kakamega 7s order of play

Others named include Victor Odhiambo, Bob Muhati, Collins Shikoli, Edward Shitanda, Jan Remke among others.

Impala Saracens will be captained by Mark kwemoi with Kenya Simbas internationals Erick Kerre and Elkeans Musonye named as his assistants.

Israel Soi has since rejoined from Homeboyz while the likes of Simbas halfback Xavier Bett, winger Timothy Makiya, Ismael Mokaya, Jerremy Griffins and Alvin Marube are named by head coach Oscar osir.

After winning Embu 7s and coming close to winning Stanbic 7s in 2017, Menengai Oilers know they have a real chance to bag something in 2019 as head coach Gibson Weru maintains a number of those who ran out last year.

Chrispine Shitindo captains the Nakuru based side. Moses Arara, Derrick Ludenyo, Theophilus Lusangalu, Derrick Mbaire, Derrick Keyoga and Austin Sikutwa will hope to carry their Kenya Cup form to the Stanbic 7s.

Pool A Fixtures:
Impala vs Oilers 9.00am
Homeboyz vs Bulls 9.20am

Impala vs Bulls 11.50am
Homeboyz vs Oilers 12.10pm

Oilers vs Bulls 2.40pm
Homeboyz vs Impala 3pm

Kakamega 7s Pool A TEAM NEWS

Homeboyz: 1. Victor Don Odhiambo 2.Leonard Mugaisi 3.Bob Muhati 4.Brian Juma 5.Augustine Lugonzo 6.Collins Shikoli 7.Mark Wandeto 8.Brian Songoi 9.Edward Shitanda 10.Barry Otieno 11.Michael Nyakundi 12.Victor Jan Remke 13.Madigo Brunson.

Impala Saracens: 1. Erick Kerre- Asst Captain 2. Ismael Mokaya 3. Daniel Dindi 4. Emmanuel Okeya 5. Mark Kwemoi- Captain 6. Israel Soi 7. Timothy Makiya 8. Alvin Marube 9. Elkeans Musonye- Asst Captain 10. Harritone Munai 11. Jeremy Griffins 12. Paul Mutsami 13. Xavier Bett

Menengai Oilers: 1. Chrispine Shitindo – c 2. Clinton Odhiambo 3. Moses Arara 4. Derrick Ludenyo 5. Victor Matiko 6. Theophilus Lusangalu 7. Andrew odero 8. Amos Onyinkwa 9. Derrick Mbaire 10. Derrick Keyoga 11. Brighton Maluki 12.Austin Sikutwa 13.Nick Mogire

Western Bulls: 1. Treasure Odundo (C) 2. Teddy Akala 3. Andrew Odhiambo 4. Robert Awich 5. Lucky Opiyo 6. Nelson Omukuba 7. Frank Mukaisi 8. Oscar Okaron 9. Isaac Wafula 10. Byrum Mukhonyi 11. Savatia Lesline 12. Allan Kasiti 13.  Dennis Lukase 14. Nickson Nyandieka 15. Derrick Makatiani 

Miller Oroto - Assistant Coach, Derrick Machio - Physio, Willis Mwinamo - Team Manager, Bram Shikanda - Head Coach

Get Kakamega tickets here https://tikohub.co.ke/resources/event.php?E_ID=4

Eric Njiru
Email: ericnjiru41@gmail.com Twitter: @EricNjiiru
Related Articles
Leave a comment