W Getty Images
New format for Africa Gold Cup
By Eric Njiru | Wed 28 Nov, 2018 14:12

Rugby Africa has introduced new format for 2019 Africa Gold Cup that will see the eight teams divided into tow pools A and B.

According to a statement by Kenya Rugby Union, Kenya Simbas- 2018 runners up-  will be in pool B with Uganda, Algeria and Morocco. 2018 Champions Namibia are in Pool A that also features Tunisia, Zimbabwe and the newly promoted Zambia. 

The proposed format will have the pool Matches played in a round robin in two different venues and on different dates within July. Pool A matches will be played between July 6th and 14th while Pool B matches will take place between 13th and 21st July.

Participating unions have been asked to tender to host the pool stages. Winners of each pool will proceed to the final where the host will be chosen according to the points collected during the Pool Phases. The final will take place during the November test window.

The dates are tentative and should they change, Rugby Africa will alert the participating Nations.

Pool A Matches:

6th July
Match 1- Namibia vs Tunisia
Match 2 – Zimbabwe vs Zambia
10th July
Match 3 – Namibia vs Zambia
Match 4 – Tunisia vs Zimbabwe
14th July
Match 5 – Namibia vs Zimbabwe
Match 6 – Tunisia vs Zambia

Pool B Matches
13th July
Match 1 – Kenya vs Uganda
Match 2 – Algeria vs Morocco
17th July
Match 3 – Kenya vs Morocco
Match 4 – Algeria vs Uganda
21st July
Match 5 – Kenya vs Algeria
Match 6 – Uganda vs Morocco

Eric Njiru
Email: ericnjiru41@gmail.com +254726205521
Leave a comment