K Lens Eye Images
Nakuru, Quins, Leos and Egerton name teams for Kakamega 7s
By Eric Njiru | Fri 19 Jul, 2019 10:51

Top Fry Nakuru, Kenya Harlequin, Strathmore Leos and Egerton Wasps are set to battle it out in pool D of Stanbic 7s opener Kakamega 7s on Saturday with all four teams seeking a place in cup quarters.

Nakuru RFC received a last minute blow as captain Monate Akuei is down with a bout of malaria at Nairobi Women's hospital and was replaced by Rogers Gworo. Crispin Onyango will captain the team according to head coach Mitch Ocholo while Cassius Omollo will stand in as his assistant

New boy Amos Obae makes the cut and will most likely make his debut. Dancun Abuyeka, Hanningtone Wabwire and Collins Onyango also make the long trip to Kakamega according to the club’s website.

Ocholla has expressed faith in this pool of youngsters, having showed their quality by reaching Embu 7s final. 

Read Also: Kakamega 7s order of play

Kenya Harlequin will be captained by Kelvin Angote as they seek an improved performance from last year’s fifth place finish at the Stanbic 7s,

Dominic Osino, Matt Wanjia, Jasper Ochen, Aluda Beda and Iddi Kakai make the 13-man squad named by head coach Charles Cardovillis.

“We are looking forward to the first tournament to test where we are,” Cardovillis told Raga House this week.

“All three teams (Nakuru, Strathmore and Egerton) will pose a different challenge, something we are looking forward too.  Every team wants to kick off the series on a high.”

“We want to win it just like every team does.  Plan is to be in the top three towards the end and go for a real title push.”

They may have been relegated from the Kenya Cup but this is a different version of the game and Strathmore Leos will stand to be counted.

A strong 14-man squad has been named by John Mbai with Lucas Oppal leading the Lions. Gideon Makumi, Cecil Otieno, Alex Maina, Barnabs Owuor, Bethwel Anami, Philemon Olang and Albert Obura are some of those heading to Kakamega.

Former Nakuru RFC head coach Enos Otieno is incharge of Egerton Wasps who are the pool’s underdogs as they aim to shock the Kenya Cup side.

Maurice Achola captains the Wasps with the rest of the gang being Gilbert Onsare, Leonard Ngetich, Moses Okari, Teddy Aguko and Barry Opondo among others.

Team News

Nakuru RFC: 1. Amos Obae* 2. Rogers Gworo 3. Walter Okoth 4. Cassius Omollo V-capt 5. Nelson Makokha* 6. Crispin Onyango – Capt 7. Dancan Abuyeka 8. Collins Onyango 9. Chrissant Ojwang 10. Hannington Wabwire 11. Teddy Ratemo* 12. Jenkins Kipruto* 13. Collins Enonda*

Quins: 1.Kevin Angote 2.Hillary Barasa 3.Brian Waraba 4.Brighton Mwalawa 5.Dennis Otieno 6.Dominic Osino 7.Matt Wanjia 8.Ambrose Curtis 9.Japser Ochen 10.Aluda Beda 11.Iddi Kakai 12.Mike Ochieng 13.Jacob Okumba

Strathmore Leos: 1. Lucas oppal (c) 2. Gideon Makumi 3. Brian Alukwe 4. Richard omedo 5. Cecil Otieno 6. Alex maina 7. Mathew mogaya 8. Jude baraka 9. Barnabus owuor 10. Bethwel Anami 11. Philemon Olang 12. Philemon Odero 13. Albert Obura.  14. Gunter Omollo

Egerton Wasps: 1.Gilbert Onsare 2.Raphex Oyugi 3.Maurice Achola© 4.Leonard Ngetich 5.Brian Ndege 6.Moses Ngura 7.Solomon Rabin 8.Moses Okari 9.Edwin Anunda 10.Teddy Aguko 11.Calvin Kiprono 12.Jack Naphtali 13.Barry Opondo

Pool D Fixtures: 

Quins vs Strathmore 11am 
Nakuru vs Egerton Wasps 11.20am

Quins vs Egerton Wasps 1.50pm 
Nakuru vs Strathmore 2.10pm

Strathmore vs Egerton Wasps 4.40pm 
Nakuru vs Quins 5pm.

Get Kakamega tickets here https://tikohub.co.ke/resources/event.php?E_ID=4

Eric Njiru
Email: ericnjiru41@gmail.com Twitter: @EricNjiiru
Related Articles
Leave a comment