Z Kwese
Mudariki out as Zimbabwe 7s name World Cup squad
By Raga House | Thu 12 Jul, 2018 14:12

Zimbabwe Sevens head coach Gilbert Nyamutsamba named a 12-man squad that will compete at the Sevens World Cup in San Francisco, USA from Friday July 20, 2018.

Nyamutsamba named the squad after a training camp in Harare last week with speedster Tafadzwa Chitokwindo being the only player from the 2013 squad that competed in Moscow according to Chronicle.co.zw.

Shingirai Hlanguyo and Tarisai Mugariri are some of the youngsters that made the World Cup quad. 

Regular captain Hilton Mudariki was not available for selection alongside Tapiwa Tsomondo who plays in South Africa. With Mudariki not available, Stephan Hunduza and Boyd Rouse were handed the responsibility to lead the team in USA. 

"We are looking at life after the World Cup. The selection was, therefore, not only influenced by current form, but also continuity. Regular senior players stilll in good form had to make way for a new generation of players," said Nyamutsamba. 

Zimbabwe play Wales in pre-round of 16 with the winner set to take on hosts USA.

Zimbabwe squad to Sevens World Cup
1.Nginu Chibuwe 2.Connor Pritchard 3.Shingirai Hlanguyo 4.Stephan Hunduza(captain) 5.Rian O'Neil 6.Biselele Tshamala 7.Nelson Madida 8.Tarisai Mugariri 9.Tafadza Chitokwindo 10.Shayne Makombe 11.Body Rouse(captain) 12.Kudakwashe Chiwanza

Raga House
Leave a comment