N Impala -Nato
Impala vs Mwamba: Who's in, who's out?
By Eric Njiru | Fri 12 Apr, 2019 12:03

Impala feel they have some unfinished business with Mwamba RFC after the latter recently won their Kenya Cup tie 20-16.

They meet on Saturday April 13, 2019 in the quarterfinals of the Enterprise Cup as both sides chase a double. They both qualified for Kenya Cup playoffs last weekend.

Impala Saracens head coach Frank Ndong starts Steve Juma at loose-head, Daniel Ndome at hooker and Saul Kivumbi at tight-head.

Fly-half Nato Simiyu(bench) gets his first senior call this season after playing the Eric Shirley Shield against Mwamba II, Nondies II and Quins II earlier this season. He’s yet to make a Kenya Cup appearance this season.

Davis Makori pairs Erick Kerre at the second row while Elkeans Musonye starts at blind-side flank with Paul Mutsami at the open-side according to impalasaracens.com

Billy-breaking-the-line-at-will Omondi starts on the left wing, Quinto Ongo on the other wing while Kenya 7s Olympian – Samuel Oliech has been given the all clear sign to compete in contact rugby and does so at full-back.

Horace Otieno

Mwamba RFC head coach Kevin Wambua is available as he hasn’t travelled to Singapore 7s with Kenya and has rejigged his line up recalling Deus Mudaki according to the official club portal.

Mudaki had been sidelined with a knock and comes in for John Mbari in the front row. He will join Eugene Sudi and Salton Muturi in the front row.

George Omolla and Stephen Sikuta will pair up in the locks while a new look back row will be on duty.

In the backline, Eugene Nzioka and Tony Omondi are the day’s half backs while Felix Otieno makes a come back to the starting XV in his preferred number 12 jersey with Michael Agevi playing outside of him. Horace Otieno, Joel Inzuga and Greg Odhiambo complete the back line.

The winner of this clash will meet either KCB or Top Fry Nakuru. Second semifinal will see the winner between Quins and Blad play either Nondies or Kabras Sugar.

Impala Saracens

1. Steve Juma 2. Daniel Ndome 3. Saul Kivumbi 4. Davis Makori 5. Erick Kerre 6. Elkeans Musonye 7. Paul Mutsami 8. Joel Omer (VC) 9. Samson Onsomu (C) 10. Anthony Odhiambo 11. Bill Omondi 12. Ishmael Mokaya 13. Anthony Nyandigisi 14. Quinto Ongo 15. Samuel Oliech

16. Wambiri Chege 17. Soita Wekesa 18. Edwin Gatungo 19. Steve Shammah 20. Xavier Kipng’etich 21. Nato Simiyu 22. Bradley Ochieng 23. Kelvin Ronnoh

1.Eugene Sudi 2.Salaton Muturi 3.Deus Mudaki 4.George Omolla 5.Stephen Sikuta 6.Louis Kisia 7.Collins Injera 8.Edwin Machanje 9.Eugene Nzioka 10.Tonny Omondi 11.Horace Otieno 12.Felix Otieno 13.Michael Agevi 14.Joel Inzuga 15.Greg Odhiambo

16. Kevin Kerore 17.Alfred Yuko 18.Tom Soteri 19.Gideon Mbithi 20.Hussein Yahya 21.Charles Chege 22.Elvis Namusai 23.Sabala Tendwa

Additional materal derived from http://www.impalasaracens.com and http://mwambarugby.com 

Eric Njiru
Email: ericnjiru41@gmail.com +254726205521
Leave a comment