. . Kenya 7s wins Bronze at Edmonton 7s, Canada on Sun 26 Sept 2021
Focus turns to Malaga 7s as pools, schedule are updated
By Raga House | Fri 21 Jan, 2022 10:49

Following a thrilling double header at the Emirates Dubai 7s, which saw South Africa men and Australia women take home the silverware, attention now turns to Spain where Malaga will host the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series for the first time.

Taking place on 21-23 January, Spain prepares to make its debut as a host nation where the Estadio Cuidad de Malaga will welcome 16 men’s and 12 women’s teams for three days of non-stop action. Malaga will become the first new host city in the women’s competition since Hamilton in New Zealand in 2020 and the 18th overall.

Due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, the New Zealand men’s and women’s teams are unable to travel to Spain for the Malaga and Seville events and will be replaced by Germany and Belgium, respectively. 

Play will kick-off at 09:00 local time on Friday, 21 January with a women’s Pool C encounter between Russia and Brazil before Tokyo 2020 Olympic bronze medallists France take on England. 

Hosts Spain will face Dubai winners Australia, Ireland and Belgium in Pool A. 

Pool B will see Tokyo 2020 Olympic bronze medallists Fiji take on Poland before both sides go on to play Canada and USA in the pool stage.


The men’s competition will commence after the first round of women’s pool play on day one with Pool D’s Kenya and Canada getting things underway. Completing the line-up in Pool D is France and Wales. 

Pool A will feature Tokyo 2020 Olympic gold medallists, Fiji, Dubai champions South Africa, England and Scotland. 

Pool B includes Germany, Australia, Ireland and Japan while hosts Spain will take on USA, Samoa and Tokyo 2020 Olympic bronze medallists Argentina in Pool C. 

Completing the pool line-up is Kenya, Wales, France and Canada who make up Pool D.

Day two of the tournament will commence at 09:00 local time with the last of the women’s pool matches. The third and final day will kick off at 09:30 and will feature the Cup finals for both the men’s and women’s tournaments to determine the winners of the inaugural HSBC Spain Sevens in Malaga. 

HSBC Spain Sevens, Malaga pools


Pool A: Spain, Australia, Ireland, Belgium
Pool B: USA, Canada, Fiji, Poland 
Pool C: Russia, Brazil, France, England 


Pool A: England, Fiji, South Africa, Scotland 
Pool B: Australia, Germany, Ireland, Japan 
Pool C: USA, Spain, Jamaica, Argentina 
Pool D: Kenya, Canada, France, Wales 

Friday January 21, 2022
Kenya vs Canada 1.22pm
France vs Wales 1.44pm
Ireland vs Japan 2.06pm
Australia vs Germany 2.28pm
England vs Fiji 2.50pm
South Africa vs Scotland 3.12pm
USA vs Spain 3.34pm
Argentina vs Jamaica 3.56pm

Kenya vs Wales 6.06pm
France vs Canada 6.28pm
Ireland vs Germany 6.50pm
Australia vs Japan 7.12pm
England vs Scotland 7.34pm
South Africa vs Fiji 7.56pm
USA vsJamaica 9.05pm
Argentina vs Spain 10.03pm

Saturday January 22
Canada vs Wales 1.27pm
France vs Kenya 1.49pm
Japan vs Germany 2.11pm
Australia vs Ireland 2.33pm
Fiji vs Scotland 2.55pm
South Africa vs England 3.17pm
Spain vs Jamaica 3.39pm
Argentina vs USA 4.01pm

-World Rugby

Raga House
Leave a comment