Chisanga, Mukidza make team of the year
By Eric Njiru | Sat 12 Aug, 2017 15:57

Kenya Simbas duo of Joshua Chisanga and Darwin Mukidza have made ‘Africa Gold Cup’ team of the season released on Saturday August 12, 2017.

The team, compiled by rugby journalists from Uganda, Zimbabwe and Namibia, features players who have had a fantastic performance in 2017 as the continent prepares for 2018 tournament that will double up as World Cup qualifiers.

Kenyan duo of Joshua Chisanga, who missed 2016's competition, and Darwin Mukidza make the team as the latter played in all matches without any substitution. He also captained Kenya in Uganda and bagged a hat-trick in the win over Senegal.

Nine players from champions Namibia make the team while captain Brian Odongo, centre Michael Wokorach and Philip Wokorach are the only players from Uganda who finished third.

Zimbabwe, who finished fifth, have flanker Connor Pritchard and scrum-half Hilton Mudariki as fly0half, right winger and inside centre all come from Namibia.

Here is the team

1. Casper Viviers (NAM)
2. Louis van der Westhuizen(Namibia)
3.Brian Odongo(Uganda) 
4.Mahepisa Tjeriko(Namibia) 
5. Ruan Ludick(Namibia) 
6. Rohan Kitshoff(Namibia) 
7. Connor Pritchard(Zim)
8.Joshua Chisanga(Kenya) 
9.Hilton Mudariki(Zimbabwe) 
10. Cliven Loubser(Namibia) 
11. David Philander(Namibia)
12. JC Greyling (NAM)
13. Michael Wokorach (Uganda)
14.Darwin Mukidza(Kenya) 
15.Philip Wokorach(Uganda)

Eric Njiru
Email: ericnjiru41@gmail.com +254726205521
Leave a comment