S Swara
56 Nationwide teams chase two promo spots
By Patrick Korir | Mon 09 Jul, 2018 10:35

Kenya Rugby Union has announced that all five nationwide leagues will kick off on Saturday 17 November 2018 and conclude after 12 weeks - on Saturday 2 February 2019. This has been captured in a season long calendar.

The five league are; Nairobi, Rift Valley, Western, Central and Coast. Nairobi is split in two - University and Clubs, each side made up of nine teams. Central, Rift Valley and Western each have ten teams and eight will contest the Coastal league.

Also read Swara are Nairobi region CHAMPIONS

Nairobi champions Swaras (pictured) start their title defense with a home game against Masaku RFC in the starting weekend as returning Dagoretti Bulldogs start away to Makueni. Comras and Quins Vandals will have home games against Stormers and Shamas, respectively, in the Clubs league.

In Nairobi’s Varsities league, MKU Stingers, Daystar Falcons, Cooperative University and Aviators all start at home against Pioneer University, Multimedia, Nazarene and KCA, in that order.

Five games will jump start the Central league. Champions Kiambu and runners-up MKU Thika will be home to Muranga RFC and Zetech University as former Kenya Cup side Thika RFC starts at Chuka University. Also starting away are Dedan Kimathi University and Nanyuki Jackals to Embu and Meru, correspondingly. Notably missing from the Central list is JKUAT Cougars who were relegated from the Championship league last season.

Also read JKUAT, Moi relegated as Ngong, UoE heads to playoffs

Another five will activate the Rift league where day one will see relegated Championship side Moi University rest as champions Eldoret RFC roll out their title defense at home to Laikipia University.

Molo and Eldoret Falcons, newcomers Mavu and Nakuru Kiti will welcome Nandi, Kericho, KPA Eldoret and Karabak University in their season starts.

A similar five will be in Westerns menu where Bungoma, Sigalagala, Webuye, Sheiywe and Homabay as hosts take on  CITAM Kisumu, Siaya, Mbale, Maseno Uni and Kibabii Uni, in that manner.

In one of four opening games in Coast, champions TUM have Coast Raiders as Spartans, SC Buccaneers, and Taita Taveta begin with Malindi, Shepherds and Pwani Sharks

After the preliminaries the respective leagues head to the knockouts starting with the quarters on 23 March, semis on 30 March and regional finals on 7 April.

From that point qualified teams will contest the nationwide quarters on 27 April. 4 May 2019 is a key date as the winning outfits at the semis will earn promotion to the second tier Championship before they battle it out for the Nationwide Cup on 11 May.

Nationwide Teams

Nairobi (18): TUK, MKU Stingers, Daystar Falcons, Cooperative, Aviators, KCA, Nazarene, Multimedia and Pioneer University make up the Varsity side while Northern Surbubs, Impala's Swaras, makueni RFC, Comras, Vandals of Quins, Shamas, Dagoretti Bulldogs, Stormers and Masaku are in Nairobi's clubs league

Central (10): Embu, MKU Thika, Kiambu RFC, Meru, Nanyuki, Muranga, Thika, Zetech and Dedan Kimathi are in Central.

Coast (8): TUM, Spartans, SC Buccaneers, Taita Taveta Uni, Pwani Sharks, Shepherds, Malindi and Coast Raiders will contest the Coast league.

Western (10): Bungoma RFC, Sigalagala, Webuye RFC, Sheiywe, Kibabii Uni, Maseno Uni, Mbale RFC, citam Kisumu, Homabay and Siaya RFC will compete in Western.

Rift Valley (10): Kabarak University, Molo, Kapsabet, KPA Eldoret, Eldoret RFC, Eldoret Falcons, Kericho, Laikipia University, Nakuru Kiti, Moi University

Patrick Korir
Related Articles
Leave a comment