15 games to set off 2015/16 Nationwide league
By Patrick Korir | Sat 26 Sep, 2015 11:55

The new Nationwide League to be contested by 62 teams across five regions kicks off on Saturday 26 September.

Only two regions; Nairobi and Rift Valley will be active on the first weekend with a total of 15 games lined up in the two regions.

Title defense

According to fixtures sent out to participating clubs by the Kenya Rugby Union, all the 20 teams in Nairobi will have their opening games on day one. In Rift Valley ten of the 12 clubs will be in action. Eldoret RFC and Kapsabet have been left out of day one activities.

2014/15 Nairobi Champions Impala Bucks start their title defense with a home game against new comers Eastlanders as Mwamba III usher in another new comer Ng’ong RFC.

Comras has a date with newbie Dagoretti Bulldogs as Portland Stormers face off with Kariobangi Brumbies. A derby of sorts will be in the offing when Masaku takes on Machakos RFC.

In the other Nairobi league, for Universities teams, last year’s regional runners-up Technical University (TUK) start off with KeMu Nairobi. USIU Martials, Nazarene Forces, Daystar Falcons and the relegated Catholic Monks will all start at home to Multimedia Hawks, MKU Nairobi, KCA and Cooperative College, in that order.

Give way

In the Rift, reigning Regional Champions Egerton Wasps start at home to Molo RFC as Nakuru’s Tunyore hosting Naivasha RFC at the Nakuru Athletics Club.

UoE Trojans, Moi University Arsonists and Kabarak University will host Kericho RFC, Kitale RFC and KPA Eldoret, in that order.

The two leagues take a break next weekend to give way to the 20th edition of Safari Sevens but will return on 10th of October with another round of games.

Action in the other three regions – Western, Coast and Central will start on Saturday 21st November alongside the new look Kenya Cup and Eric Shirley Shield.

Also read

Nationwide league to kick off way before Kenya Cup

Fixtures – Saturday 26 September


Pool ‘A’: Catholic vs Cooperative College, TUK vs KEMU, USIU vs Multimedia, Nazarene vs MKU Nrb, Daystar vs KCA

Pool ‘B’: Impala III vs Eastlanders, Mwamba III vs Ngong, Comras vs Cooperative, Masaku vs Machakos, Stormers vs Brumbies

Rift Valley: Kabarak vs KPA, Egerton vs Molo, Nakuru III vs Naivasha, Moi Uni vs Kitale

Photo courtesy of Impala Saracens

Patrick Korir
Leave a comment